Association
l’Odyssée Frank martin

AOFM-burger-menu-open-2-B

Face to face

Friday 26 april 2024 8PM

Free admission upon reservation

Théâtre Les Salons

Two composers. One string quartet apiece. Maurice Ravel and Frank Martin come face to face in this meeting of masterpieces brought to us by the acclaimed Terpsycordes Quartet. Igor Stravinsky’s Three Pieces mediate the encounter.

GIROLAMO BOTTIGLIERI, first violin

RAYA RAYTCHEVA, second violin

CAROLINE COHEN-ADAD, viola

FLORESTAN DARBELLAY, cello

Programme

FRANK MARTIN, String Quartet

IGOR STRAVINSKY, Three pieces for String Quartet

MAURICE RAVEL, Quartet in F major

Performance running time: 60 minutes, without intermission.
Concert will be followed by a reception to celebrate the release of the new album.

Maurice Ravel and Frank Martin: two composers who have little in common except that each composed a single string quartet. Both may be hailed as masterpieces, but Ravel’s quartet (1903) continues to be played in venues over the world, while Martin’s (1967) is rarely performed today. Terpsycordes Quartet unites these two composers as it celebrates the release of the quartet’s new album (Claves Records, 2024), which invites us to rediscover the allure of Martin’s quartet.

Ravel’s rhythmic effusion contrasts with Martin’s more austere style and yet both works succeed in casting the same melodic spell. The programme is completed by Igor Stravinsky’s short but commanding Three Pieces, dedicated to the Swiss conductor and musicologist Ernest Ansermet, who was born in Vevey, but made Geneva his home.

Free admission upon reservation

Stay updated on the Odyssey!

Sign up now to receive the latest news directly to your inbox.

INFORMATION & ACCESSIBILITY

For any information, especially regarding individuals with reduced mobility and their companions, please contact us at:

 accueil@odysseefrankmartin.ch or by telephone at 00 41 78 754 24 77

TERPSYCORDES QUARTET

A prism of musical repertoires. A multiplicity of approaches. A kaleidoscope of personalities. All these different facets combine to make up the unique character of Terpsycordes Quartet. Founded in 1997 in Geneva, Terpsycordes Quartet trained with Gábor Takács-Nagy and was subsequently coached by members of the Budapest, Hagen, Lasalle and Mosaïque Quartets. The ensemble was awarded First Prize at the Geneva International Music Competition in 2001. The talent of these four musicians of diverse origins (Italy, Bulgaria, France and Switzerland) radiates both on stage and in the recording studio.

Their albums, which have been acclaimed by the classical music press, reflect a determination to get to the very essence of every piece they play, combining rigour with imagination. They include recordings of Schubert, Beethoven and Haydn on period instruments (Ricercar and Ambronay), Schumann’s quartets (Claves), Vierne’s Quintet with piano (Brilliant Classics), as well as modern and contemporary works by Swiss composers (Bloch and Gerber by VDE Gallo, and Zanon by Claves) and incursions into the worlds of tango (Piazzolla with William Sabatier) and jazz (with Maël Godinat Trionyx).

Quatuor Terpsycordes is actively involved in social and educational projects, partnering up with foundations, associations and centres for disabled, vulnerable and incarcerated people. The ensemble also collaborates with students in local schools, inspiring the next generation of budding artists and composers. The four musicians are not afraid to break with tradition to share their passion and bring the magic of chamber music to diverse audiences and unexpected places. In 2022, the ensemble celebrated its 25th anniversary with a series of 25 events, including a musical hike up Salève mountain and a bike ride through the vineyards of Mandement. Outside of Geneva, Terpsycordes regularly dazzles audiences at major concert halls and festivals all over the world, always keeping their ears attuned to their muse Terpsichore, who unites gesture with spirit. Terre, psy, cordes.

www.terpsycordes.com

Association
l’Odyssée Frank martin

AOFM-burger-menu-open-2-B

Face à face

Vendredi 26 avril 2024 à 20H

Entrée libre sur réservation

Théâtre Les Salons

Deux compositeurs, deux quatuors à cordes, deux chefs d’œuvre. Maurice Ravel et Frank Martin se retrouvent face à face dans une rencontre inédite proposée par le célèbre Quatuor Terpsycordes, où s’invite également Igor Stravinsky.

GIROLAMO BOTTIGLIERI, premier violon

RAYA RAYTCHEVA, second violon

CAROLINE COHEN-ADAD, alto

FLORESTAN DARBELLAY, violoncelle

PROGRAMME

FRANK MARTIN,Quatuor à cordes

IGOR STRAVINSKY, Trois pièces pour quatuor à cordes

MAURICE RAVEL, Quatuor à cordes en fa majeur

Durée du concert : 60 minutes sans entracte.
Vernissage du disque à la sortie du concert.

Maurice Ravel et Frank Martin ont en commun de n’avoir écrit chacun qu’un seul quatuor à cordes, pour tous deux une pièce maîtresse de leur production. Si la partition de Ravel, achevée en 1903, est souvent à l’affiche des concerts, celle de Frank Martin, écrite en 1967, est trop rarement entendue. Le Quatuor Terpsycordes entretient une relation particulière avec cette œuvre qu’il vient d’enregistrer sous le label Claves Records.

Les effusions rythmiques de Ravel contrastent avec le style plus austère de Martin mais un semblable envoûtement mélodique réunit les deux ouvrages. En guise d’intermède, le programme se voit complété par les lapidaires mais intenses Trois pièces d’Igor Stravinsky , dédiées au chef d’orchestre et musicologue suisse, genevois d’adoption, Ernest Ansermet.

Entrée libre sur réservation

Restez informé·e

Pour ne manquer aucune étape de l'Odyssée, inscrivez-vous! Vous recevrez toutes les infos directement sur votre courriel.

INFORMATIONS & ACCESSIBILITÉ

Pour toute information, et en particulier pour les personnes à mobilité réduite et accompagnantes, nous vous remercions de nous contacter à :

 accueil@odysseefrankmartin.ch ou par téléphone au 00 41 78 754 24 77

Quatuor Terpsycordes

Prisme des répertoires, multiplicité des approches musicales, kaléidoscope des personnalités ; autant de facettes qui confèrent au Quatuor Terpsycordes son identité unique. Fondé en 1997, le Quatuor Terpsycordes a suivi l’enseignement de Gábor Takács-Nagy, avant de se perfectionner auprès des membres des quatuors Budapest, Hagen, Lasalle et Mosaïques, entre autres. Récompensé par un Premier Prix au Concours de Genève en 2001, ce carré d’archets aux origines contrastées (Italie, Bulgarie, France et Suisse) a su faire rayonner un talent multiple de quatre, à la scène comme au disque.

Tous salués par la presse spécialisée, les enregistrements de Terpsycordes reflètent cette volonté de toucher l’essence du texte, dans une démarche alliant rigueur et fantaisie : Schubert, Beethoven et Haydn révélés par les instruments d’époque (Ricercar et Ambronay Editions), les quatuors de Schumann (Claves) et le quintette avec piano de Vierne (Brilliant Classics) ; sans oublier leur engagement pour la musique moderne et contemporaine suisse (Gerber et Bloch, chez VDE Gallo, et Zanon, chez Claves) et des incursions dans l’univers du tango (Piazzolla/Piaf, avec William Sabatier, chez Fuga Libera) et celui du jazz (avec Mael Godinat Trionyx).

Par ailleurs, le Quatuor Terpsycordes s'engage activement dans des projets sociaux et éducatifs. Il offre des concerts en partenariat avec des fondations, des associations et des établissements d'accueil pour les personnes en situation de handicap, de précarité, de détention. Il collabore également avec des élèves des écoles de la Ville de Genève, inspirant ainsi la jeune génération d'interprètes et de compositeurs en herbe. En outre, il transcende les conventions en offrant des expériences uniques visant à partager sa passion et crée des opportunités originales pour faire découvrir la magie de la musique de chambre à un public hétéroclite : Toujours désireux de surprendre son public, il a célébré son 25ème anniversaire en 2022 avec une série de 25 événements, dont certains originaux et insolites tels qu’une randonnée musicale au Salève et une balade à vélo dans les vignes du Mandement. Bien au-delà de Genève, ses membres éblouissent régulièrement le public des grandes saisons et festivals de ce monde, tout en gardant à l’oreille le souffle de Terpsichore, muse qui relie le geste et l’esprit. Terre, psy, cordes.

www.terpsycordes.com