Association
l’Odyssée Frank martin

AOFM-burger-menu-open-2-B

Family Reunion: Three Generations of Martin musicians

Saturday 27 April 2024 8pm

Starting from CHF 15.-

Tickets available online or on site on the day of the concert

Théâtre Les Salons

Three generations of the Martin family gather for this musical reunion featuring Frank Martin’s Piano Quintet and Violin Sonata No. 1. Frank Martin is also reunited with the composer who ignited his musical instincts with a performance of Johann Sebastian Bach’s Harpsichord Concerto in D-minor.

Programme

FRANK MARTIN, Sonata I for violin and piano, op. 1

JOHANN SEBASTIAN BACH, Harpsichord Concerto No.1 in D minor, BWV 1052

FRANK MARTIN, Piano Quintet

Performance running time: 60 minutes, without intermission.

It was on Good Friday of 1903 that twelve-year-old Frank Martin first heard Johann Sebastian Bach’s St. Matthew Passion. Decades later, he recalled how moved he felt in that moment: “It was the defining musical experience of my life. From beginning to end, it was as though I had lost consciousness and been transported to the heavens. When I came back, I had no idea where I was. […] From time to time, I have caught glimmers of that feeling, but I have never had an experience quite like it again.”
While this may have been a once-in-a-lifetime event, Frank Martin’s profound connection with music has been passed down through the generations. Today, his grandson Denis and great-granddaughter Paloma present to us a family reunion in the form of a concert featuring two of Frank Martin’s compositions. Bach’s profound influence on the composer comes across in his Piano Quintet (1919) for two violins, viola, cello and piano. Although it is written in the Late-Romantic style, Frank Martin couldn’t resist alluding to the transcendent experience of his childhood, reiterating the arioso “Wiewohl mein Herz in Tränen schwimmt, daß Jesus von mir Abschied nimmt” from St Matthew Passion in the strings at the beginning of the third movement. Frank Martin’s discovery of another great composer can also be seen in his Violin Sonata No. 1 (1913), which contains echoes of the Choral from César Franck’s Prélude, Choral et Fugue.

Ultimately, this concert not only brings together three generations of the Martin family, but also reunites Frank Martin with Bach, as Denis Martin explains: “When Thierry Fischer approached my family and invited us to participate in this Odyssey, we decided to form an ensemble with Paloma’s musician friends from Milan. When we were putting together the programme, it seemed natural to insert Bach between two of my grandfather’s compositions. Fiorenzo will be interpreting Bach’s Harpsichord Concerto in D-minor on the piano. For us, it is a way of reuniting Frank Martin with the aesthetic sensations that brought about his musical awakening.”

Starting from CHF 15.-

Tickets available online or on site on the day of the concert

Stay updated on the Odyssey!

Sign up now to receive the latest news directly to your inbox.

INFORMATION & ACCESSIBILITY

For any information, especially regarding individuals with reduced mobility and their companions, please contact us at:

 accueil@odysseefrankmartin.ch or by telephone at 00 41 78 754 24 77

FIORENZO PASCALUCCI

piano

Fiorenzo Pascalucci studied piano under Giuseppe Squitieri and Giovanni Valentini at the conservatories in Campobasso and Pesaro, graduating with honours in 2007 and 2010. He then attended the Imola International Academy where he worked with Leonid Margarius, Anna Kravtchenko and Franco Scala. He went on to study at the Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia (Rome) under Benedetto Lupo and Stefano Fiuzzi, graduating with honours in 2014. He has won a number of awards, including First Prize at the Premio Venezia National Piano competition (2008), Third Prize at the Grand Prix International de Piano de Lyon (2011), First Prize at the Friuli Venezia Giulia International Piano Competition (2012) and First Prize at the Rina Sala Gallo International Piano Competition (2014). He was also granted the “Giuseppe Sinopoli Award” for his artistic achievements. Fiorenzo has performed in major venues all over Europe and abroad, with concerts in Thailand, Kazakhstan and the United Arab Emirates. He has played with many acclaimed orchestras, including the Orchestra Sinfonica di Milano Giuseppe Verdi, Orchestra del Teatro La Fenice and North Czech Philharmonic Teplice, and collaborated with renowned conductors like Isaac Karabtchevsky, Carlo Tenan and Alfonso Scarano. His recordings include a 2019 album devoted to Mozart (Warner Classics). He currently teaches at the Conservatorio Guido Cantelli in Novara and often performs to raise money for humanitarian causes.

PALOMA MARTIN

violin

Paloma Martin was born into a multicultural, musical family in Geneva. She began learning the violin at age five with Saskia Filippini and François James. She then studied under Sasha Rozhdestvensky at Geneva’s Haute École de Musique, obtaining a bachelor’s degree in 2017, followed by a master’s degree in 2019. During her time as concertmaster of La Scala Academy Orchestra (2020-2022), she continued her studies with Francesco Manara (concertmaster, Teatro alla Scala Orchestra) and Lorenza Borrani (Scuola di Musica di Fiesole, Florence). She studied chamber music with Gábor Tákacs-Nagy and regularly plays in various ensembles, including Quintetto Tebaldi, Trio Faust and Quartetto d’archi dell’Accademia Teatro alla Scala. Paloma was invited to serve as principal second violin for the Luigi Cherubini Youth Orchestra, under the baton of Riccardo Muti. In 2021-2022, she stepped in as the principal second violin and concertmaster for the Maggio Musicale Fiorentino orchestra, where she had the opportunity to work with Zubin Mehta, Sir John-Eliot Gardiner and Diego Fasolis. In October 2021, Paloma participated in the orchestra’s European tour under Zubin Mehta’s direction, performing in the most prestigious venues in Europe, including the Elbphilharmonie (Hamburg), Musikverein (Vienna) and Brucknerhaus (Linz). In summer 2023, she participated in the Aspen Music Festival and School, where she studied with Naoko Tanaka (Julliard School) and performed Schulhoff’s Sextet at a concert dedicated to Holocaust victims.

DA WON GHANG

violin

Da Won Ghang was born in Daejeon, South Korea. She began playing the violin at age 11 and studied under Alberto Bologni at the Luigi Boccherini Conservatorio di Musica in Lucca, where she graduated with a Master’s degree (Diploma accademico di secondo livello) with honours in 2020. She has taken masterclasses with Pavel Vernikov, Uto Ughi, Alessandro Cappone and Chiara Morandi. She has specialised in chamber music since 2018. In 2019, she studied with the Cremona Quartet at the Stauffer Center for Strings (Cremona) and since 2022, she has been taking quartet lessons with Cuarteto Casals and Heime Muller at the Scuola di Musica di Fiesole. She has also taken masterclasses with Giulio Rovighi, Aldo Campagnari, Danusha Waskewicz, Francesco Dillon (Quartetto Prometeo), Heime Muller, Eckart Runge (Artemis Quartet ) and Sergei Bresler, and Kyril Zlotnikov (Jerusalem Quartet). From 2019 to 2022, Da Won attended an advanced programme for orchestral musicians at the La Scala Academy and performed with the orchestra as concertmaster. In 2023 she was awarded a scholarship to attend the prestigious Aspen Music Festival and School, which is regarded as America’s top classical music festival.

Denis Martin

viola

Born in Geneva in 1958, Denis Martin studied the violin with Liliane and Corrado Romano at Geneva’s Conservatory of Music, then the viola with Bruno Giuranna and Christoph Schiller. In 1985, he was awarded a diploma in music performance (“Konzertreifediplom”) from the Hochschule in Zurich. He also obtained a diploma in Choral Conducting under the guidance of Michel Corboz. Denis has participated in numerous chamber ensembles and has also been invited to play as a soloist with the SODRE Symphony Orchestra of Montevideo. He was appointed principal viola of the Orchestre des Pays de Savoie before being hired by the Orchestre de la Suisse Romande from 1990 to 2023, where he taught for the Diploma of Advanced Studies programme in orchestral performance. Between 2005 and 2016, he gave a series of masterclasses in Buenos Aires. Denis has also teamed up with guitarist Sergio García to form the Latin-American duo “Cantor de Tram 12”. His recordings include a 1992 album (Erato) with the Choeur du Chambre du Midi that features Frank Martin’s Mass for Double Choir a cappella.

MARCO MAURO MORUZZI

cello

Marco Mauro Moruzzi was born in Cremona. He began learning the cello at age 14 and graduated in 2019 with the highest honours from Milan’s Conservatorio Giuseppe Verdi. He has also studied with the Cremona Quartet (Walter Stauffer Academy, Cremona), Giovanni Gnocchi (Accademia Filarmonica di Bologna), the Avos project – Scuola Internazionale di Musica (Rome), and David Geringas (Accademia Chigiana, Siena). He is currently studying under Enrico Bronzi at the Mozarteum University in Salzburg. Marco was principal cellist of the La Scala Academy Orchestra and the Italian Conservatory National Orchestra, and has collaborated with the Mozarteum Orchestra Salzburg, La Fil - Filarmonica di Milano and Orchestra del Teatro Olimpico di Vicenza, working alongside renowned conductors like Daniele Gatti, Alexander Lonquich, Lorenzo Viotti and Donato Renzetti. Marco has performed at major festivals in Italy and abroad as both a soloist and orchestral musician, including Al Bustan Festival (Beit Mery, Lebanon), Puccini Festival (Torre del Lago, Italy), MiTo Musica (Milan/Turin, Italy), Stradivari Festival (Cremona, Italy), Expo 2020 (Dubai, UAE) and Accademia dei Cameristi (Bari, Italy).

Association
l’Odyssée Frank martin

AOFM-burger-menu-open-2-B

Carte blanche à la famille Martin

SAMEDI 27 avril 2024 à 20H

À partir de CHF 15.-

Billets disponibles en ligne ou sur place le jour du concert

Théâtre Les Salons

Trois générations de la famille Martin se retrouvent autour du Quintette pour piano et de la Sonate pour violon et piano n°1 de Frank Martin. Cette rencontre musicale est également l’occasion de réunir Frank Martin avec le compositeur qui a éveillé sa passion pour la musique – Jean-Sébastien Bach, dont on entendra le Concerto pour clavecin en ré mineur.

PROGRAMME

FRANK MARTIN, Sonate pour violon et piano n°1, op. 1

JEAN-SEBASTIEN BACH, Concerto n°1 pour clavecin en ré mineur BWV1052

FRANK MARTIN, Quintette pour piano, deux violons, alto et violoncelle

Durée du concert : 60 minutes sans entracte.

Le Vendredi Saint de 1903, Frank Martin, alors âgé de 12 ans, entend pour la première fois la Passion selon Saint Matthieu de Jean-Sébastien Bach. Des décennies plus tard il se souvient de cet instant : « Et alors ça c’est la plus grande expérience musicale de ma vie, parce que depuis le début de la Passion selon Saint Matthieu jusqu’à la fin, j’ai en quelque sorte perdu conscience. J’ai été comme transporté au ciel. Enfin, quand je suis revenu, je ne savais plus dans quelle salle j’étais, ça a été une expérience que je n’ai jamais retrouvée. J’ai pu la retrouver par petits fragments quelques fois, mais une chose de cette importance-là, vraiment je ne l’ai jamais revécue. »

La passion de Frank Martin pour la musique s’est transmise de génération en génération. Aujourd’hui, son petit-fils Denis et son arrière-petite-fille Paloma interprètent en famille deux des œuvres du compositeur. Le Quintette pour deux violons, alto, violoncelle et piano (1919), bien que composé dans un style romantique tardif, reflète l’influence profonde de Bach. Frank Martin intègre l’arioso «Wiewohl mein Herz in Tränen schwimmt, daß Jesus von mir Abschied nimmt » de la Passion selon Saint Matthieu au début du troisième mouvement, évoquant ainsi l’expérience transcendentale de sa jeunesse. Dans sa Sonate pour violon n°1, Frank Martin rend hommage à un autre grand compositeur, César Franck, en reprenant des thèmes du Choral de son œuvre Prélude, choral et fugue.

Ce concert réunit trois générations de la famille Martin, mais également Frank Martin avec Bach, comme Denis Martin l’explique : « Lorsque Thierry Fischer a invité ma famille à participer à cette Odyssée, nous avons fait appel à des musiciens que Paloma côtoie dans le monde musical milanais. En préparant le programme, il nous a semblé naturel d’insérer une pièce de J.S. Bach entre deux œuvres de notre grand-père et arrière-grand-père. Et c’est au piano que Fiorenzo jouera le Concerto pour clavecin en ré mineur, une manière de tenter un rapprochement avec l’esthétique sonore de l’époque où Frank Martin avait ressenti un tel bouleversement en écoutant la musique de J.S. Bach. »

À partir de CHF 15.-

Billets disponibles en ligne ou sur place le jour du concert

Restez informé·e

Pour ne manquer aucune étape de l'Odyssée, inscrivez-vous! Vous recevrez toutes les infos directement sur votre courriel.

Espace presse

INFORMATIONS & ACCESSIBILITÉ

Pour toute information, et en particulier pour les personnes à mobilité réduite et accompagnantes, nous vous remercions de nous contacter à :

 accueil@odysseefrankmartin.ch ou par téléphone au 00 41 78 754 24 77

FIORENZO PASCALUCCI

piano

Fiorenzo Pascalucci a étudié le piano avec Giuseppe Squitieri et Giovanni Valentini aux conservatoires de Campobasso et Pesaro, et a obtenu ses diplômes avec mention en 2007 et 2010. Il a ensuite participé à l’Académie internationale d’Imola où il a suivi les enseignements de Leonid Margarius, Anna Kravtchenko et Franco Scala. Il a poursuivi ses études à l’Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia (Rome) avec Benedetto Lupo et Stefano Fiuzzi, où il a décroché son diplôme avec mention en 2014. Il a remporté des distinctions notables, comme le Premier prix au concours Premio Venezia (2008), le Troisième prix au Concours International de Piano de Lyon (2011), le Premier Prix au Concours Friuli Venezia Giulia (2012) et le Premier prix au Concours Rina Sala Gallo (2014). Il a également remporté la “Giuseppe Sinopoli Award” pour son parcours artistique. Par-delà les frontières, Fiorenzo a donné des concerts en Thaïlande, au Kazakhstan et aux Emirats arabes unis. Il a partagé la scène avec des orchestres prestigieux comme l’Orchestre Symphonique Giuseppe-Verdi de Milan, l’Orchestre du Théâtre de La Fenice et le North Czech Philharmonic Teplice, et a collaboré avec des chefs reconnus comme Isaac Karabtchevsky, Carlo Tenan and Alfonso Scarano. Il a enregistré en 2019 un album consacré à Mozart pour le label Warner Classics. Il enseigne actuellement au Conservatoire Guido Cantelli de Novara et se produit souvent lors de concerts caritatifs.

PALOMA MARTIN

violon

Originaire de Genève, Paloma naît dans une famille multiculturelle de musiciens et commence le violon à l’âge de cinq ans. Elle étudie avec Saskia Filippini et François James, puis obtient le Bachelor (2017) et le Master (2019) dans la classe de Sasha Rozhdestvensky à la Haute école de musique de Genève. Premier violon solo de l’orchestre de l’Académie du Teatro alla Scala de 2020 à 2022, elle a poursuivi ses études auprès de Francesco Manara (premier violon solo, Orchestre du Teatro alla Scala). Parallèlement, elle se perfectionne à l’Ecole de musique de Fiesole avec Lorenza Borrani. Elle a étudié la musique de chambre avec Gábor Tákacs-Nagy et joue régulièrement au sein de divers ensembles comme le Quintetto Tebaldi, le trio Faust et le Quatuor de l’Académie du Teatro alla Scala. Dans son activité de musicienne d’orchestre, Paloma est invitée à jouer comme cheffe d’attaque des seconds violons ainsi que violon solo à l’Orchestra Giovanile Luigi Cherubini, dirigé par Riccardo Muti. Durant la saison 2021-2022, elle remplace le chef d’attaque des seconds violons ainsi que le co-solo des premiers violons du Maggio Musicale Fiorentino (Florence, Italie), ce qui lui a donné l’opportunité de travailler avec Zubin Mehta, Sir John-Eliot Gardiner et Diego Fasolis. En octobre 2021, elle participe à la tournée européenne de l’orchestre, dirigé par Zubin Mehta, jouant dans les plus prestigieuses salles d’Europe comme la Elbphilharmonie de Hambourg, le Musikverein de Vienne ou la Brucknersaal de Linz. Durant l’été 2023, elle a participé au prestigieux festival Aspen Music Festival (Colorado, E-U), où elle a suivi les enseignements de Naoko Tanaka et interprété le sextuor de Schulhoff en mémoire des victimes du totalitarisme. Depuis 2022, Paloma effectue régulièrement des remplacements à l’Orchestre du Teatro alla Scala.

DA WON GHANG

violon

Née à Daejeon, en Corée du Sud, Da Won Ghang a commencé son parcours musical à l’âge de 11 ans. Elle a étudié le violon avec Alberto Bologni au Conservatoire de musique Luigi Boccherini de Lucques, où elle a brillamment obtenu un master (Diploma accademico di secondo livello) en 2020. Son apprentissage s’est enrichi à travers des masterclasses dispensées par d’éminents musiciens tels que Pavel Vernikov, Uto Ughi, Alessandro Cappone et Chiara Morandi. Depuis 2018, elle se consacre avec passion au répertoire de musique de chambre. En 2019, elle a suivi les enseignements du Quartetto di Cremona au Stauffer Center for Strings de Crémone et depuis 2022, elle prend des leçons de quatuor avec le Cuarteto Casals et Heime Muller à l’Ecole de musique de Fiesole. Elle a également suivi les masterclasses de musique de chambre de Giulio Rovighi, Aldo Campagnari, Danusha Waskewicz, Francesco Dillon (Quartetto Prometeo), Heime Muller, Eckart Runge (Quatuor Artemis), Sergei Bresler, et Kyril Zlotnikov (Jerusalem Quartet). De 2019 à 2022, elle a suivi un programme d’études avancées pour musiciens d’orchestre à l’Académie du Teatro alla Scala et a eu l’occasion de se produire avec cet orchestre en tant que violon solo. En 2023 elle a obtenu une bourse pour participer à la prestigieuse école du festival de musique d’Aspen aux Etats-Unis.

Denis Martin

alto

Né à Genève en 1958, Denis Martin a étudié le violon avec Liliane et Corrado Romano au Conservatoire de Genève, puis l’alto avec Bruno Giuranna et Christoph Schiller. En 1985, il obtient son diplôme de concertiste (“Konzertreifediplom”) de la Haute école de musique de Zurich. Denis a participé à de nombreux projets de musique de chambre et a été invité comme soliste par l’Orchestre symphonique de Montevideo (SODRE). Il a été alto solo de l’Orchestre des Pays de Savoie avant de rejoindre l’Orchestre de la Suisse Romande en 1990, au sein duquel il a eu à plusieurs reprises la fonction de tuteur pour le Diplôme d’études approfondies de musicien d’orchestre. Entre 2005 et 2016, il a également donné plusieurs masterclasses à Buenos Aires. Depuis 1984, il se produit en duo de chansons latino-américaines avec le guitariste Sergio García sous l’appellation  "Cantor de tram 12 ». Par ailleurs, élève de chant d'Isabel Balmori, de guitare de Jorge Pacheco et enfin titulaire d’un diplôme de direction de chœur, obtenu sous la direction de Michel Corboz, il a enregistré en 1992 pour le label Erato la Messe à double chœur de Frank Martin avec le Choeur du Chambre du Midi.

MARCO MAURO MORUZZI

violoncelle

Marco Mauro Moruzzi est né à Crémone et a commencé son apprentissage du violoncelle à 14 ans. Il a obtenu son master au Conservatoire Giuseppe Verdi de Milan en 2019 avec la plus haute distinction. Il a également suivi les enseignements du Quartetto di Cremona (Walter Stauffer Academy, Cremona), de Giovanni Gnocchi (Accademia Filarmonica di Bologna), de David Geringas (Accademia Chigiana, Siena), et du projet Avos (Scuola Internazionale di Musica, Rome). Il étudie actuellement avec Enrico Bronzi au Mozarteum de Salzbourg. Il a été violoncelle solo de l’orchestre de l’Académie du Teatro alla Scala et de l’orchestre du Conservatoire National d’Italie, et a collaboré avec l’orchestre Mozarteum de Salzbourg, La Fil - Filarmonica di Milano et l’Orchestre du Teatro Olimpico di Vicenza, sous la direction de chefs renommés comme Daniele Gatti, Alexander Lonquich, Lorenzo Viotti et Donato Renzetti. Marco s’est produit en tant que soliste et musicien d’orchestre dans de nombreux festivals en Italie et à l’étranger, comme Al Bustan (Beit Mery, Liban), Puccini (Torre del Lago, Italie), MiTo Musica (Milan/Turin, Italie), Stradivari (Cremona, Italie), Expo 2020 (Dubai, UAE) et Accademia dei Cameristi (Bari, Italie).