Association
l’Odyssée Frank martin

AOFM-burger-menu-open-2-B

Swiss Youth Choir's 30th anniversary concert

Saturday 16 November 2024 7:30 PM

Starting from CHF 15.-

Tickets available online or on site on the day of the concert

Join the party! The Swiss Youth Choir celebrates anniversaries with a rich program centered around Frank Martin’s majestic Mass for Double Choir a cappella.

PROGRAM

JOHANNES BRAHMS - Fünf Gesänge (Five songs) Op. 104 - Nachtwache I (Night Watch I), Nachtwache II (Night Watch II) and Letztes Glück (Last happiness)

WILLY BURKHARD - Kleiner Psalter (Little Psalter) for mixed choir a cappella

CYRILL SCHÜRCH - Psalm 19 (creation)

SARA ⁠BUCHER - Où quelque chose se mélange (Where something mixes)

FRANK MARTIN - Mass for Double Choir a cappella

Performance running time : 1h15 without intermission

This year, the Swiss Youth Choir not only celebrates its 30th anniversary but also the 50th anniversary of Frank Martin’s death, by featuring the renowned Mass for Double Choir a cappella, one of the iconic sacred choral works of the 20th century, at the center of its program. This piece has also played a significant role in the history of the Swiss Youth Choir, which has been diligently working on and regularly performing it for several years.

To commemorate this double jubilee, the choir has recently recorded the mass along with two works by Swiss composers: Kleiner Psalter by Willy Burkhard and a new creation by Cyrill Schürch, Psalm 19. They will unveil this new album on this occasion. To complete this Swiss triptych, the entirely a cappella program is enriched with pieces of different styles that showcase the choir’s diverse repertoire and enhance this festive moment.

Starting from CHF 15.-

Tickets available online or on site on the day of the concert

Stay updated on the Odyssey!

Sign up now to receive the latest news directly to your inbox.

Press area

INFORMATION & ACCESSIBILITY

For any information, especially regarding individuals with reduced mobility and their companions, please contact us at:

 accueil@odysseefrankmartin.ch or by telephone at 00 41 78 754 24 77

Swiss Youth Choir

violin

For nearly 30 years, the Swiss Youth Choir has generated enthusiasm with its freshness, musicality, and precision, through the diversity of its performances and its irresistible charm. The Swiss Youth Choir builds bridges between linguistic regions. It brings together pupils, high school students, apprentices, university students, and young professionals. Music students can also gain valuable experience and make useful contacts within the Swiss Youth Choir.

Time spent in the Swiss Youth Choir has always been a significant life experience for its members: the shared pursuit of perfection, the friendships formed across linguistic barriers and professional backgrounds, lead to incredible cohesion and impressive social skills among these young adults.

The Swiss Youth Choir unites two ensembles under one roof: the Concert Choir, with about fifty choristers aged 16 to 26, and, since 2020, the Symphonic Choir, which includes up to 100 choristers aged 16 to 30.

The Swiss Youth Choir is supported by the Federal Office of Culture (FOC) and is the only choir to receive direct support from the Swiss Choir Association (USC). Since its creation, the Swiss Youth Choir has been sponsored by the Swiss Choir Association and the Swiss Federation Europa Cantat (FSEC). The Swiss Youth Choir is a non-profit association, politically and confessionally neutral.

Nicolas Fink

conductor

Choir conductor, musical mediator, provider of ideas – Nicolas Fink does not shy away from anything when it comes to developing sound and sharing a living experience of choral music. An uncompromising sonic perfection, a primacy of the fit between content and music, and a quest for the exceptional are at the heart of the Berne-born musician’s artistic work. Nicolas Fink does not confine himself to a single style of music and is eager for eclecticism.

After graduating with honors in choral conducting from the Lucerne University of Music and Performing Arts and obtaining a concert diploma as a baritone, Nicolas Fink found his vocation as a choir conductor through several stages, including a Conducting Fellowship at the Boston Symphony Orchestra’s Tanglewood Music Center (2006). Radio choirs embody the ideal of his work in its purest form. His time as assistant conductor at Rundfunkchor Berlin made a significant impression; between 2010 and 2015, Nicolas Fink was able to combine the full spectrum of radio choir work, with insights into the development of new concert formats and music mediation, which had a lasting influence on him. Since then, Nicolas Fink has appeared as a guest conductor with the WDR and MDR radio choirs, the Chœur de Radio France, Vocalconsort Berlin, Coro Casa da Música Porto, Chamber Choir Ireland, Cor del Palau de la Música in Barcelona and Edvard Grieg Kor. A much sought-after partner for choir preparation, he has worked to date with more than 25 leading conductors, including Sir Simon Rattle, Valery Gergiev, Marek Janowski and Daniele Gatti. Since September 2020, he has led the WDR Rundfunkchor as Principal Conductor.

Nicolas Fink has been collaborating with the Swiss Youth Choir since 2016, and has been its artistic director since 2018.

Samedi 16 novembre 2024 à 19h30

À partir de CHF 15.-

Billets disponibles en ligne ou sur place le jour du concert

Rejoignez la fête ! Le Chœur Suisse des Jeunes rassemble les anniversaires dans un programme construit autour de la majestueuse Messe pour double chœur a cappella de Frank Martin.

LEA STADELMANN

ET

LYDIANE DE GRAFFENRIED

PROGRAMME

JOHANNES BRAHMS - Fünf Gesänge (Cinq chants) Op. 104 - Nachtwache I (Veillée I), Nachtwache II (Veillée II) et Letztes Glück (Ultime bonheur)

WILLY BURKHARD - Kleiner Psalter (Petit Psautier) pour chœur mixte a cappella

CYRILL SCHÜRCH - Psaume 19 (création)

SARA ⁠BUCHER - Où quelque chose se mélange

FRANK MARTIN - Messe pour double chœur a cappella

Durée du concert : 1h15 sans entracte

Cette année, le Chœur Suisse des Jeunes célèbre non seulement ses 30 ans mais également le 50ème anniversaire de la disparition de Frank Martin, en plaçant au centre de son programme la fameuse Messe pour double chœur a cappella, l’une des œuvres chorales sacrées emblématiques du XXème siècle. Cette pièce a également compté dans l’histoire du Chœur Suisse des Jeunes qui la travaille intensivement depuis plusieurs années et l’interprète régulièrement.
Afin de marquer ce double jubilé, la messe ainsi que deux œuvres de compositeurs suisses, Kleiner Psalter de Willy Burkhard et une création de Cyrill Schürch, Psaume 19, ont récemment été enregistrées par le Chœur Suisse des Jeunes qui vernira ce nouvel album à cette occasion. Pour compléter ce triptyque helvétique, le programme, entièrement a cappella, est enrichi de pièces de styles différents qui montrent la diversité du répertoire du chœur et étoffent ce moment festif.

À partir de CHF 15.-

Billets disponibles en ligne ou sur place le jour du concert

Restez informé·e

Pour ne manquer aucune étape de l'Odyssée, inscrivez-vous! Vous recevrez toutes les infos directement sur votre courriel.

Espace presse

INFORMATIONS & ACCESSIBILITÉ

Pour toute information, et en particulier pour les personnes à mobilité réduite et accompagnantes, nous vous remercions de nous contacter à :

 accueil@odysseefrankmartin.ch ou par téléphone au 00 41 78 754 24 77

Chœur Suisse des Jeunes

violon

Depuis près de 30 ans, le Chœur Suisse des Jeunes suscite l’enthousiasme par sa fraîcheur, sa musicalité et sa précision, par la diversité de ses prestations et par son charme irrésistible. Le Chœur Suisse des Jeunes jette des ponts entre les régions linguistiques. Il réunit des élèves, des gymnasien.ne.s, des apprenti.e.s, des étudiant.e.s et des jeunes personnes actives dans la vie professionnelle. Les étudiants en musique peuvent aussi acquérir de précieuses expériences et nouer des contacts utiles au sein du Chœur Suisse des Jeunes.

Le temps passé au Chœur Suisse des Jeunes a toujours constitué pour ses membres une expérience de vie marquante: la recherche commune de la perfection, les amitiés nouées par-delà les barrières linguistiques et dans tous les milieux professionnels mènent chez ces jeunes adultes à une incroyable cohésion et une compétence sociale impressionnante.

Le Chœur Suisse des Jeunes réunit sous un même toit deux ensembles: le Chœur de concert, doté d’une cinquantaine de choristes âgés de 16 à 26 ans, et, depuis 2020, le Chœur symphonique, qui compte jusqu’à 100 choristes de 16 à 30 ans.

Le Chœur Suisse des Jeunes est soutenu par l’Office fédéral de la culture (OFC) et est le seul chœur à bénéficier d’un soutien direct de l’Union Suisse des Chorales (USC). Depuis sa création, le Chœur Suisse des Jeunes est parrainé par l’Union suisse des chorales et la Fédération Suisse Europa Cantat (FSEC). Le Chœur Suisse des Jeunes est une association à but non lucratif, politiquement et confessionnellement neutre.

Nicolas Fink

direction

Chef de chœur, médiateur musical, pourvoyeur d’idées – Nicolas Fink ne recule devant rien lorsqu’il s’agit de développer le son et de partager une expérience vivante de la musique chorale. Une perfection sonore sans compromis, une primauté de l’adéquation entre le contenu et la musique et une recherche de l’exceptionnel sont au cœur du travail artistique de ce musicien originaire de Berne. Nicolas Fink ne se laisse pas enfermer dans un seul style de musique et se dit avide d’éclectisme.

Après avoir obtenu un diplôme de direction chorale avec distinction à la Haute école de musique de Lucerne et un diplôme de concert comme baryton, Nicolas Fink a trouvé sa vocation de chef de chœur au gré de plusieurs étapes, dont un Conducting Fellowship au Tanglewood Music Center du Boston Symphony Orchestra (2006). Les chœurs radiophoniques incarnent l’idéal de son travail à l’état pur. La période passée au Rundfunkchor Berlin en qualité de chef assistant l’a définitivement marqué; entre 2010 et 2015, Nicolas Fink a pu combiner tout le spectre du travail d’un chœur radiophonique, avec des aperçus sur le développement de nouveaux formats de concert et la médiation musicale, ce qui l’a durablement influencé. Nicolas Fink s’est depuis lors produit en tant que chef invité, notamment avec les chœurs radiophoniques de la WDR et la MDR, le Chœur de Radio France, le Vocalconsort Berlin, le Coro Casa da Música Porto, le Chamber Choir Ireland, le Cor del Palau de la Música à Barcelone et le Edvard Grieg Kor. Partenaire très recherché pour la préparation de chœurs, il a travaillé à ce jour avec plus de 25 chefs d’orchestre de premier plan, dont Sir Simon Rattle, Valery Gergiev, Marek Janowski et Daniele Gatti. Depuis septembre 2020, il dirige le WDR Rundfunkchor en qualité de chef attitré.

Nicolas Fink collabore depuis 2016 avec le Chœur Suisse des Jeunes, dont il est le directeur artistique depuis 2018